

Department of Engineering Safety Committee

Terms of Reference

Aim

The purpose of the Departmental Safety Committee is to assist and advise the Head of Department on planning, prioritisation and implementation of measures to manage the safety risks of departmental activities.

Membership

- Head of Department
- Departmental Safety Manager / Departmental Fire Safety Manager
- Head of Human Resources
- Departmental Safety Co-ordinator
- Laser Safety Officer
- Radiation Safety Officer
- Biological Safety Officer
- Facilities Manager
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div A
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div B
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div C
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div D
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div E
- Local Safety Co-ordinator Div F
- Design and Technical Services Representative
- Laboratory Technician Representative (Trumpington Street)
- Workshop Technician Representative (Trumpington Street)
- Dyson Design Centre Manager
- Whittle Lab Representative
- Schofield Lab Representative
- Teaching Office Representative
- IT Services Representative
- Administrative Staff Representative (Trumpington Street)
- Administrative Staff Representative (West Cambridge Site)
- Postgraduate Student Representative
- Undergraduate Student Representative
- Trade Union Safety Representatives

Where no Local Safety Co-ordinator is appointed or is in post, the Head of Division becomes Local Safety Co-ordinator by default.

Terms of Reference

- 1. Ensure significant safety risks are being managed effectively.
- 2. Develop actions to meet University and Departmental safety objectives.



- 3. Develop a programme of active monitoring (visits, checks and inspections) and the recording of significant findings and improvement actions.
- 4. To approve policy, standards, guidance and strategy for the management of health and safety at work within the Department and compliance with health and safety legislative and other requirements.
- 5. Determine actions necessary to address areas of non-compliance where there is significant risk.
- 6. Establish communication and consultation arrangements with staff, students and, where appropriate, local Trade Union safety committees.
- 7. Monitor and review health and safety performance through reporting, which should include:
 - a. Progress against health and safety action plans.
 - b. Accidents and incidents trends, investigations and lessons learned.
 - c. Work related ill-health statistics and trends.
 - d. Analysis from active monitoring, including safety tours, responsibilities and risk assessments.
 - e. Fire safety.
 - f. Key risks and issues.
 - g. Health and safety training needs and completion of courses.
 - h. Issues to be escalated to Academic Committee.
 - i. Issues to be escalated to the University of Cambridge (UoC) HSEC or appropriate sub-committee (for matters of UoC policy and standards or those affecting UoC more widely).
- 8. Establish effective communication and co-operation arrangements with other parties in shared workplaces.

Meetings

The committee will meet four times in each academic year, so approximately at threemonth intervals.

The Committee will have a written agenda with standing agenda items (see Appendix 2).

Committee meeting minutes will be published on the staff intranet via the Departmental Safety Office website following acceptance, along with dates of future committee meetings.

The Chair is appointed by the Head of Department (HoD) and has the delegated authority of the HoD. From time to time the committee may invite additional persons to attend meetings who have special expertise in a subject to be discussed.

The Committee's Terms of Reference will be reviewed annually by the Committee.



Current Membership of the Department of Engineering Safety Committee

Chair / Laser Safety Officer - Prof Tim Wilkinson Head of Department – Prof Colm Durkan Head of Human Resources – Mrs Emma Parr Departmental Safety Manager / Fire Safety Manager - Mr Gary Steele Safety Co-ordinator – Mr Steve Wickens Radiation Safety Officer - Prof Geoff Parks **Biological Safety Officer - Dr Thierry Savin** Facilities Manager - Mr Matthew Greenhalgh Local Safety Co-ordinator Div A - Prof Stuart Scott Local Safety Co-ordinator Div B – Dr Sean Whelan Local Safety Co-ordinator Div C - Dr Thierry Savin Local Safety Co-ordinator Div D - Dr Pieter Desnerck Local Safety Co-ordinator Div E - Dr Sebastian Pattinson Local Safety Co-ordinator Div F – Prof Simon Godsill Design and Technical Services – Mr Barney Coles Laboratory Technician Representative (Trumpington Street) - Mr Tony Dennis Workshop Technician Representative (Trumpington Street) – Mr Kynan Wright Dyson Design Centre Manager - Dr Richard Roebuck Whittle Lab Representative – Mr Dominic Basham Schofield Lab Representative - Mr John Chandler Teaching Office Representative – Dr Graham McShane IT Services Representative – Miss Diane Hazell Administrative Staff Representative (West Cambridge) – Mrs Susan Stocks Administrative Staff Representative (Trumpington Street) – Mr John Clarke Postgraduate Student Representative – Mr Dick Ferieno Firdaus Undergraduate Student Representative – Rishabh Lalwani Trade Union Safety Representative – TBA

In attendance:

BOC In-house Manager - Mr Graham Jack (The following* *no longer routinely attend meetings, but will attend as necessary*): *University Safety Advisor - Dr Margaret Glendenning *University Fire Safety Manager – Mr Michael Marsh

Note: Where no Local Safety Co-ordinator is appointed or is in post, the Head of Division becomes Local Safety Co-ordinator by default.

Updated: 19/02/2025



Department of Engineering Safety Committee

Agenda

- 1. Apologies
- 2. Minutes of last meeting
- 3. Matters arising
- 4. Accident/Incident Report
 - 4.1 First Aid Update
- 5. Fire Safety Report
- 6. Safety Officers Reports:
 - 6.1 Departmental
 - 6.2 Biological
 - 6.3 Laser
 - 6.4 Radiation
- 7. Safety Tours
- 8. BOC Report/Update
- 9. AOB
- 10. Date of next meeting